top of page
Writer's pictureTanese S

Keto Shrimp & Spinach Omelette

Updated: Aug 25, 2020


In the first stages of the keto diet fat is our friend. I found that in the beginning of my journey, I was always afraid of consuming too much. We have been taught and conditioned to repeat that "fat is bad for you." Well, not so my dear old sugar burning machines. Fat is Fabulous! I mean look at it! I know, it's just an omelette but it's filled with so much goodness and fat. Believe me when I tell you, this will fill you up and keep you satiated well over the time you should feel hungry.


This is an easy cream cheesey breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner. This is all just for you!


Ingredients

4 eggs

10 jumbo shrimp cut into small pieces

4 ounces full fat cream cheese

1/2 medium onions chopped

1/4 orange bell pepper chopped

1 cup baby spinach chopped

4 tablespoons salted butter

1 tablespoon cajun seasoning

1 teaspoon old bay seasoning

1 tablespoon water


Let's Make This!

  • Add the cajun and old bay seasonings to the shrimp and mix well together.

  • In a large non-stick skillet (non-stick is my best omelette maker), add 2 tablespoons of butter, onions and peppers on medium heat.

  • When the onions are translucent, add the shrimp and allow the shrimp to cook.

  • Once the shrimp has cooked, add the spinach and cook just a bit. We don't want them to disappear. We all know the magic of the spinach shrinkage act.

  • Then add the cream cheese and allow it to melt creating a nice even filling for our omelette.

  • Remove the filling from the skillet and set aside.


Now For the Omelette

Sometimes, this part makes me feel a little nervous. It's usually the part that tells me whether I'll be having an omelette or a breakfast scramble. Either way is good, but sometimes an omelette just needs to submit and be an omelette, right?

We Can Do This!!


  • In a small bowl, with the tablespoon of water added, whisk your eggs together until it is uniformed.

  • Add the remaining butter to the same skillet that was used for the filling and allow it to melt. Do not clean or remove any of the filling that may have been left over in the skillet as we want the eggs to take on all that flavor which was left behind.

  • When the butter has melted, pour in your eggs and allow it to set.

I am not a fan of runny scrambled eggs or uncooked eggs when I'm eating an omelette, so my method here is to allow the eggs to cook on both sides. In order to accomplish this, I again, allow the egg to set and form so that it is easy for me to flip it over gently and add my fillings to the already cooked side. You may choose to add your filling without flipping it as we eat the way we prefer.

As you can see in the picture, it was almost a breakfast scramble; but NOT this day!!


  • Now that the omelette is cooperative and has flipped without much of a tantrum, add the filling in the center allowing enough room for the other half to cover the filling area and close without the filling seeping out.

  • Allow this to cook for just enough time to allow the omelette to close. Do this with the heat turned off. The skillet is hot enough to continue cooking the eggs and everything else has already been cooked, so no worries.

Slide and remove the omelette from he skillet and garnish with whatever cheese you would like etc.

This is your omelette!



Enjoy!!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page