top of page
Writer's pictureTanese S

Keto Biscuits and Gravy

Updated: Sep 8, 2020


Welcome to this wonderful breakfast, brunch, lunch, or dinner. This is a savory plate of southern comfort that you will not regret.

I can't enjoy all the foods that I love on this keto diet. I have memories attached to them and now I'll have to give up my biscuits and gravy.

Have no fear, The Keto Consortia is here!


Keto Everything!


I love these challenges. Again and again, I will eventually learn how to keto everything. I am not a Southerner by birth, it is the state that I am in. North Carolina has been my home now for over 10 years and I am so in love with the comfort of Southern cooking. It's fatty and heavy, spicy and very well seasoned. It will also put you not only in a trance of pure love and comfort, but it will knock you out for a few hours due to the excessive carb load, sugar and grease. Ahhhh, heaven! The best comfort combination.


You might argue that making the gravy should be easy as it's just sausage and milk and that's close enough to be keto. I hear you, but there is more to it than that. For me, the gravy needs to have thickness and keto does not allow the help of regular old all purpose flour or cornstarch to produce that consistency. I have had the pleasure of trying Xanthum Gum that many people seem to use around these here keto parts, but it does not make this Southern dweller happy. It made my soup a big slimy mess, wasted an entire pot of fish stew once using that gum! Like a rat in a maze, I tried it again in this very dish and had to let it go.


Thank goodness for my #ketocommunity, I got great pointers and suggestions to try Arrowroot Starch/Flour. I didn't want to waste anymore food, but that's just what has to happen sometimes when we are learning, experimenting and discovering right? Well, blow me down, it worked!! It created the perfect texture and consistency. It was delicious and exactly what I needed.


What you will need:


For the Gravy:

1 package of Tennessee Pride Hot Country Sausage (or whatever brand you prefer)

1/2 cup chicken broth

1 cup heavy whipping cream

2 tablespoons salted butter

1/2 medium onion diced

1 clove garlic minced

1 tablespoon arrowroot starch


For the Biscuit:

1 1/2 cups almond flour

2 eggs beaten

1/2 cup sour cream

4 tablespoons melted butter

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

6 muffin cups and a muffin pan



First things first, let's get the biscuits going first as they will take a bit longer than the gravy.


Method for the Biscuits:


Preheat oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.


In a medium sized bowl, add the almond flour, baking powder and baking soda together. Add the eggs and sour cream into the bowl and mix together using a spatula. When this is combined, add the melted butter to the mix and immediately spoon the batter into the muffin cups.

Bake for about 15 - 20 minutes. This might vary as I used my smaller convection oven. Check within that time frame as they could be done quicker.



Now for the Gravy:

Use a medium sauce pan on medium heat to melt the butter. Add the onions and allow them to become translucent. Add the minced garlic and stir as to not allow them to burn. Add the sausage and cook. When this is completed, add the chicken broth and heavy whipping cream. Make sure that the liquid covers the meat. If not, add more cream.

Allow this to boil and bubble for a few minutes while continuing to stir. When you are about to turn off the heat, add the arrowroot starch and stir. Once the gravy has the desired consistency, you make turn off the heat.


*Arrowroot Starch/Flour Instructions*

For Thickening: Arrowroot is best used at the end of your cooking just before boiling, as continued heating will cause it to lose its thickening ability. For gravies and sauces, add arrowroot starch to a small amount of cool liquid first and stir together. Whisk into the gravy and allow it to thicken.




There it is, the moment you've been waiting for. So eat up and Enjoy!

326 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글 2개


Tanese S
Tanese S
2020년 8월 16일

Do it! Do it!!!😎

좋아요

rachelasmith
2020년 8월 16일

I am thinking about making this today- for dinner!

좋아요
bottom of page