top of page
Writer's pictureTanese S

Keto Berry Crumb Cake

Updated: Aug 16, 2020


Lately, I have been craving sweets and wanting warm sweet deliciousness. Maybe, my potassium is low or maybe I need a change from proteins and veggies. Maybe I am a bit bored and needed a challenge in the kitchen. I think it may be all of the above. Before eating ketogenically, I was never good at baking and if I did it was very simple and more than likely from a box or my aunt's bread pudding. Either way, this is a good thing. I enjoy trying these new bakes, failing and doing it all over again.

So without further words and blabber, I give you my Keto Berry Crumb Cake!!


These are the hands of my wonderful neighbor assisting me with damage control as I had already inhaled a slice before taking a picture. What can I say? It is what it is! Pretend it's a Pac-Man Crumb Cake?


Ingredients for Cake

11/2 cups almond flour

1 tablespoon coconut flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 eggs

1/2 cup sour cream

1/4 cup melted salted butter

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon almond extract

tablespoon heavy whipping cream

1/2 cup powdered sweetener (monkfruit is my sweetener of choice)

  • In a large in bowl add flours, baking powder and baking soda together and whisk to get rid of any lumps.

  • Add sweetener, vanilla extract, almond extract, sour cream, eggs and melted butter.


  • Mix all the ingredients with a fork to assist with getting the eggs and the flour evenly distributed.

  • Once the batter is uniformed, use a spatula to continue mixing.


  • When the batter is well incorporated, add the heavy whipping cream and mix it in.


  • Line your baking pan with parchment paper at the bottom and spray the sides with a non-stick spray.

  • Pour batter into the pan and preheat your oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.


Additional Ingredients

11/2 cups mixed berries frozen or fresh

1 tablespoon golden monkfruit sweetener

  • Add berries on top of the batter and press them in just a bit.

  • Sprinkle the sweetener on top.


Now For The Topper

Ingredients

11/2 cups almond flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons sweetener

1/2 stick salted butter at room temperature

  • Add all the ingredients to your bowl and mash in the butter.

  • Use your hands and meld the butter into the flour until it looks like sand.


  • Sprinkle the crumble evenly over the berries and put in the oven for 40 - 50 minutes.


  • Allow the cake to cool for about an hour in the pan as it felt very delicate and needed a moment to rest!

  • Sift powdered sweetener evenly over the area of the cake when it has cooled.

This was a hard time for me and so I sliced it as soon as it felt cool!!

We were not disappointed!! My neighbor's cat came in for the kill!!


I am having a very hard time leaving it alone and giving it time to just be in the refrigerator. This. Is. Delicious!! I implore you to eat this warm with some whipped cream or with some vanilla ice-cream. I've done both and I need to relax a bit and not have any for another day or two. Talk about your satisfaction about to being guaranteed. I know we have different taste buds, but I truly believe that you will enjoy this! This will hug you and take your cares away. If you don't like this after baking it, you messed up somewhere!! Sorry! That was harsh, but maybe? I truly hope this hugs your soul.


Enjoy!




23 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Tanese S
Tanese S
Aug 16, 2020

Yeah, make it when you're in a good space.😁

Like

rachelasmith
Aug 16, 2020

This looks great!!! I think I have all the ingredients.... Now if I can just find the energy!

Like
bottom of page