top of page
Writer's pictureTanese S

Keto Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Updated: Sep 6, 2020


I really miss bananas. Sometimes it's a challenge to not have some fruits that I really enjoy eating. Luckily, we can improvise. The magic of extracts I tell ya!! For those of us who are not necessarily chocaholics, is that a word,? this just might be just for you too. No sugar, no grains and talk about low carb. It's perfect!

Let us begin this little trip!


Ingredients

11/2 cups almond flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

*3/8 cup of golden monk fruit sweetener

2 eggs

1 tablespoon banana extract

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tablespoon mayonnaise

1/2 cup semi-sweet baking chocolate chips

1/4 cup melted salted butter


*I initially used 1/2 cup of the sweetener and it was very sweet to me. If you don't mind the sweetness, you may use that amount.

If you don't have that 3/8 cup mark on your measuring cup or in your measuring cup set, it's 1/4 cup plus 1/2 of 1/4 cup. I just learned this from my great friend, Jean the egg supplying taste testing machine.*


Method

Heat oven to 350 Degrees Fahrenheit


In a large mixing bowl, add all the dry ingredients and mix together using a whisk or a fork.

Add the eggs, sour cream and mayonnaise and mix well.

When this is well incorporated, use a spatula to continue combining the batter.

Add melted butter, banana extract and vanilla extract.

Mix this well.

I use this method to prevent over beating and it's much easier with way less of a clean up after.

Once the batter is well incorporated, add the chocolate chips and mix.

I used a large muffin tin and generously greased it using butter.

Use whatever size you would like. Keep in mind that the bigger the muffin tin, the higher the carb count will be. If you use a 12 count muffin tin, each muffin will be approximately 5.1grams net carbs. This muffin tin yielded 6 large muffins and I'm ok with that.

Fill each cup to about halfway.

Put in the oven for 15 - 20 minutes or until the toothpick test shows a clean stick.

I really enjoyed these even though I am not a chocolate lover. These are moist and had the perfect amount of banana flavoring. Deliciously satisfying!

Look at that texture!



Enjoy!



39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page