top of page
Writer's pictureTanese S

Keto Hickory Flavored Barbecue Sauce


This homemade sucralose-free barbecue sauce is just what I needed!

Its hickory flavor is just right with the perfect amount of heat and sweet.


Why No Sucralose For Me?

I am sure I am not the only one with this issue, but I find that "keto-friendly" products that contain sucralose, tends to give me intense cravings after consuming them and leaves me feeling intense hunger. From what I have read, these symptoms could be that I am no longer in ketosis. Even though I may still be fat-adapted, consuming sucralose allows my insulin to spike high enough to cause me to have cravings, feel unsatiated and experience mild headaches.

I have not been able to find sucralose-free barbecue sauces and honestly, I didn't put much effort into looking either. I'm sure they are out there, but why not do it myself? So here it is and this is where I step up and learn how to make barbecue sauce.


I hope you will try this out and enjoy it as I have. The ingredients are many but the process is very easy. Don't be intimidated!! You've Got This!!!


What You Will Need:

EVERYTHING IN YOUR PANTRY!!


Ingredients

1 can whole tomatoes or crushed tomatoes

1/2 yellow onion

1 clove garlic

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

2 tablespoons worcestershire sauce

1 teaspoon dijon mustard

1/4 cup golden monk fruit sweetener

2 tablespoons tomato paste

1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 tablespoon coconut aminos

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1 tablespoon smoked paprika

1 tablespoon hickory flavored liquid smoke

11/2 teaspoon sea salt

Method

Add the can of tomatoes, onion and garlic in a blender or food processor and puree.

In a medium saucepan, add the puree and everything else in the pan on medium heat. Mix everything together and stir as needed until it comes to a low simmer.

Stir the sauce, then cover and reduce heat to low or low simmer.

Allow the sauce to simmer for about 45 minutes to an hour.

When the sauce has reduced and thickens a bit, remove from heat and allow to cool.


That's it!


Enjoy!




Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page