top of page
Writer's pictureTanese S

Keto Hearty Beef and Veggie Overload Chili


This is one of the best ways to clean out your refrigerator. It is packed filled with all the keto veggies that will keep you going to the pot for more. Talk about filling. This has every part of the food pyramid with the exception of the berries, nuts and seeds. You can have them after though. This chili is a great meal for the one meal a day plan (OMAD), the Intermittent Faster (IF); and it's a deliciously satisfying fast breaking meal.

When the veggies are about to give up and die, we save them!

Just add the beef and produce the heat!!


Quick Story: I began this entire process wanting to just put everything in the crockpot so that I could just plunk it all in and be in bed. It is a lazy, cool and rainy day and I am not feeling my best. Cough, Cough, Cough! It's not Covid! Sometimes, reality makes things a little bit more challenging however. I had the idea and began the process, but, in the end I had to transfer everything into a stockpot. Why? Well as you can see, this is a lot of vegetables and this was not suited for the size of my crockpot. I have no clue what size it is. That's it! So if you are planning to do this,

make sure that your pot is big enough for this Keto Hearty Beef & Veggie Overload Chili, hence the name.


I didn't cook the meats before adding them to my crockpot. I just used my hand to pull the ground beef a part and cut the stew beef into smaller pieces.

I seasoned the meats in the pot and used a generous amount of each of these spices. I DID NOT measure.

Onion Powder

Garlic Powder

Salt

Paprika

Ground Cumin

Chili Powder

Mix the seasoning into the meat and cover on high for about 1 hour.

Chop all your veggies and add to the cooker.

Green & Orange Bell Peppers

Jalapeno Peppers

Celery stalks

Onion

Zucchini


The best way to peel and clean the chayote is to peel it under cold water. Under the skin has a slimy film that sticks to your hands and makes it feel sticky and stiff when your hand dries. You can try it to experiment and experience this or just take my word for it. Once you have peeled it, slice it in half and cut the white piece of seed-like part out of it. Cut the half piece in half lengthwise, then cut into bite sized pieces.

Cut tomatoes and add a can of Rotel.

If you don't have the Rotel, you may also substitute with Salsa.

Once everything is in the cooker, add a packet of your favorite Chili Powder and mix well.

Now cover and allow to cook for 3 - 4 hours.


It should fit just fine because the veggies will get smaller as they cook right?

I should have taken photos of the spillage. When I got back to the house, some of the juice was all over the stove. I guess it was way to hearty and delicious for the crockpot to handle. Poor thing!! I had to transfer the chili into a stockpot.


It was already done but it fit a lot better in the pot. In the end it didn't change the taste because this dish was delicious and very filling. I was happy that I had made enough to feed a village!


I enjoyed my first bowl with cheese, fresh chopped onions and sour cream.



16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page